Earle J. Gluck Training Award


Earle Jackson Gluck (May 23, 1901 – February 19, 1972), was a radio and television pioneer. He was born in Baltimore, Maryland, and in the summer of 1915 was issued an amateur radio station license with the call sign 3AIF, for use at his home in Hamilton. During World War I he served as a chief radioman for the U.S. Navy. He later moved to Charlotte, North Carolina, becoming a Westinghouse Electric and Manufacturing Company engineer, where he was relicensed as amateur station 4CQ.

Most amateurs at this time used spark transmitters that could only transmit the dots-and-dashes of Morse code, however a Gluck associate, Fred Laxton, managed to acquire a scarce vacuum tube from General Electric, which made audio transmissions possible. Gluck and Laxton, along with Frank Bunker, set up a transmitter in an abandoned chicken coup located behind Laxton's home, with a microphone line running to the home's living room. Their initial transmissions eventually were expanded into the playing of phonograph records, which resulted in enough interest that a regular schedule of broadcasts was established. In late 1920 Laxton's station was issued an Experimental license with the call sign 4XD.

The trio decided to go commercial, and incorporated the Southern Radio Corporation in December 1921. In March 1922 the company was issued a broadcasting station license with the call letters WBT, which made its debut broadcast on the 22nd as "the first station that has been erected and put in active operating condition in the Carolinas".

In 1933 Gluck brought station WSOC (now WHVN) to Charlotte, becoming president and general manager. He also was an active community leader and served on the Housing Authority of the city beginning in 1938, and as that board's chairman from 1968 to his death. He was a charter member of the Charlotte Amateur Radio Club and was instrumental in offering guidance and advice in its organization. (The call sign used by the club's station, W4CQ, was originally held by Gluck). Gluck also served in organizations such as the Kiwanis Club, Civitan Club, and the Boy Scouts of America (now Scouts BSA).

After he died in Charlotte in 1972 — becoming a "Silent Key" in amateur radio parlance — his wife donated some of his amateur radio equipment to the Club. In 2015, he was included in the inaugural class of the Charlotte Broadcast Hall of Fame.

Earle J. Gluck Training Award Nomination Form


Earl J. Gluck Training Award Recipients

Year Recipient
2023 Tommy Lee Hayes Brown
Karis Hunt*
Louis Maillet
Aeden McAteer*
Douglas Taylor
2022 Towner Blackstock
Tom Howard
Heather Jewell
Andrew Laughlin
Bruce Moses
Hannah Todd*
Jeff Wetherbee
2021 No Banquet
2020 Juliet Laughlin
Brian Law*
Ryan Monroe*
2019 Jenn Bolt
Billy Hawkins
Olivia Hawkins*
Del Whittaker
2018 Garrett Ashby
Sandra Handy
Brad McLelland
Daniel Wood*
Debra Wright
2017 Joe Ernst
Catherine Howard
McKenna Jahns*
John McLean
2016 Steve Cannon
Malinda Cobb
David Crowe
Kendall McAteer
Zach Rose*
Nick Zanzot*
2015 James K. Flynn
Mike Malysko
Steve Mazur
Kristine McGuire
David Ruggles
Ricky Williams*
2014 Paul Summers
Dennis Tucker
Michael Turner
Scott Whitlock
2013 Dan Hardesty
Rick Jensen
Rick Messina
Peter Olynick
2012 Donnie Crump
Christopher Gamble
Bob Lang
John Lee
2011 Bob Coughlin
Craig Orr
Darin Reynolds
Darren Seigler
2010 Jim Goda
Ken Hilton
Mark Spisak
Ben Yarborough
2009 Barry Douthitt
Don Eaker
Susan Eaker
Peter Heikes
Miriam Olynick
Bill Rose
Julia Sain
2008 Roger McFadyen
Bob McLaughlin
Andrew Woodward
2007 Michael Hartje
Lon Nigro
Eddy Via
2006 Dave Evans
Greg Jednak
Mark Morris
2005 Bob Marum
Jim Sutton
Tom Ward
2004 Tanya Hartje
Stan Nester
David Royster
2003 Larry Banks
Dick Parks
Del Whittaker
2002 Kenn Bullock
Dwight McKnight
Bill Womack
2001 Bruce Fowler
Jeff Worboys
2000 Staton Boyette
David Keller
1999 Emily Pentecost
1998 Marvin Bethune
1997 Al Ferrell
1996 Bill Tyler
Joy Tyler
1995 Max Treece
Don Whitehead
1994 Mary Horne
Stephen Pace
1993 George Maillet
Peggy Maillet
1992 John Ashworth III
Maria Lemke
1991 Dave Campbell
Susanne Miles
1990 JoAnn Lee
Dave Marquis
1989 Barbara Bogan
Zeke Clark
1988 Willis Joseph
1987 Charles Knight
1986 Patsy Patterson
1985 Phill Briggs
1984 Harold Patterson
1983 Louise Fair
1982 Susan Wampler
1981 Al Selby
1980 Jim Hancock
1979 Joel Moser
1978 Julius Pinkston
1977 Roy Segee
1976 Shirley Ferguson
1975 Mike Elliott
* denotes youth recipient